WackoWiki: Usability Issues

https://wackowiki.org/doc     Version: 16.09.2019 11:28
Dev[link4]/Release[link5]/R5.5[link6]/Usability

registration redirect

I have a suggestion for the overall registration process. This is not a "show stopper" but repairing it could remove a little confusion.

  1. Currently when a new user registers, they receive the "You've registered at xyz" email. << fine
  2. The e-mail includes text that reads " Please return to the Wiki and login with your new username and password." <<fine
  3. Upon clicking on the link, (with or without closing the web browser) the user's browser says "Email successfully confirmed." << fine
  4. Then if the user clicks on Login from the above, he is in a position to login from the web browser<< fine
  5. When he completes the login with his new username/PWD, he ends up at the New user registration page asking for username and Password to register yet another time. << Not good! This is confusing.


I feel we have an unacceptable (very confusing) situation when registering a new user. The e-mail back is working fine however when the new user clicks on the link provided in the e-mail he is returned to the Wiki and he no longer sees the note that the registration was confirmed but the big problem I see is that the first thing he sees is another New user registration: page. This happens in both the case if the Wiki was left open or if the Wiki was closed from when the original registration was requested.

FIXED: revision:5b3c1aef18ff[link1]

watch and notification option

Another problem I still see is what I think an inconsistency between more | Watch and the "Notify me about new comments...". Specifically for a given page I see both the following:


AND


To me, the more | Watch implies that one is not watching this page yet the "Notify me..." with a check mark in it implies they will be notified about new comments. In fact, the user is not notified.

WikiAdmin[link2] (11.03.2016 14:41) Is the question – why is there a preselected check mark?

/Dev/Release/R5.5/Notifications[link3]

Improve Message Sets

show the work flow, add screen shots


work flow
  1. registration
    1. [screen shot]
    2. message set 
    3. comment
    4. proposed improvement
  2. login
    1. [screen shot]
    2. ..

I have a suggestion for the overall registration process. This is not a "show stopper" but repairing it could remove a little confusion.

  1. Currently when a new user registers, they receive the "You've registered at xyz" email. << fine
  2. The e-mail includes text that reads " Please return to the Wiki and login with your new username and password." <<fine
  3. Upon clicking on the link, (with or without closing the web browser) the user's browser says "Email successfully confirmed." << fine
  4. Then if the user clicks on Login from the above, he is in a position to login from the web browser<< fine
  5. When he completes the login with his new username/PWD, he ends up at the New user registration page asking for username and Password to register yet another time. << Not good! This is confusing.

Message boxes

Unknown action colorbox

Unknown action colorbox

Unknown action colorbox

Unknown action colorbox

Unknown action colorbox


Unknown action colorbox

Unknown action colorbox